28th October 2014

So far on this trip, I had been round the Annapurna circuit, had a mad couple of days in KTM and was about to board a plane to Lukla…..

First flight of the day meant a 5am pick up!!

Standing at the front of my hotel waiting for Rajan to appear to take me to the airport was a spooky experience.  I have never seen the streets of Thamel empty, but at 5am that is exactly what they were, no men trying to sell you strange looking instruments, no women thrusting silk bags in your faces, no rickshaw and taxi drivers touting for business, no horns honking, no nothing, just silence – it was actually blissful.

With the usual military precision, Rajan got me and my 5 bags through security and checked in and sent me through to the departure lounge.  The boxes were going to be on the flight after me, so should hopefully arrive about 15 minutes after me – I kept the faith!   No sooner had I gone through the security curtain and had my mild pat down by the security lady, then my flight was being called,  I was the last one on the bus!  YAY I knew what that meant – first one off, so first one onto the plane and the best seat in the house.  Oh yeah baby I was in seat 1A, I should get good views of the mountains and our landing, and I did!!!

Out of the middle of these impossibly large hills appeared a landing strip, we bounced up the runway, quick handbrake turn and we were being booted out of the plane while the next load were huddled together on the runway ready for the return to KTM.  All in all it was an 8 minute turn around from landing, to unloading, reloading and take off, it stuns me every time!

I went to collect my bag, then looked up at the eager faces behind the fence trying to get some work from the newly arrived trekkers, searching for the familiar grin that meant Kami was waiting for me.  I couldn’t see him, so I sensibly took off the extra layers and weight that I had worn to get round the weight restrictions on the plane and packed them in the bag that Kami would be carrying…..he is stronger than me after all!!

I looked up and saw him desperately trying to push his way through the crowd, I caught his eye and the grin was there!!  I would be fine now!

Over to Paradise Lodge for a warm hug and a breakfast to ensure I would be able to make the walk today.  Kami was sent back round to the terminal in search of boxes.  He had already lined up 2 of his mates to be our porters to Namche and Pangboche.  Half way through my breakfast he was back, grinning from ear to ear “boxes here”

Off we set, the boys stopped at their lodgings to pick up their bags and tie up their load so that it was as easy as possible to carry.  One would take 4 boxes, dropping one in Jorsalle on his way to Namche. The other got the short straw of 6 boxes to Pangboche.  I would meet them on their way down to pay their bills, but clearly they had to have an advance each first!

I ventured off into the sunshine, down the hill out of Lukla through all the lush green trees.  As I was in the first wave of flights, for most of this first part of the trek I was alone, it was AWESOME.  45 minutes later I was outside Namgel’s Auntie’s tealodge in Cheplung and the first of the posters was despatched to be put up in their dining room.  Buildings were being “tagged” by our stickers along the way.

This was a good day, I was eating up this trail.  I had hoped that it would be lunch at Phakding then on to Jorsalle to see my friend Kumar.  Oh no, I was at Phakding by 10.30.  Another poster despatched, along with some business cards.  Kami, unsurprisingly, had now caught me up and we sat in the sun and enjoyed our break together.

Off up the trail out of Phakding and on our way to Monjo.  A quick stop at Waterfall Inn for some momo’s then down and up through the trees.  There it was perched on the top of a big hill, Monjo – how on earth was I here this quickly?  I knew that Jorsalle was no more than 15 mins away from this village.  So I set off over the bridge and onwards and upwards, oh my god and then upwards.  Yes I had looked up at Monjo, but hadn’t quite twigged how much higher up it was, or was it that I had conveniently forgotten that it was perched on the top of a hill which meant lots of my favourite up stuff!!

Those hills went on forever!!  Seriously it was ridiculous, yes I had clearly conveniently erased this part from my memory!  But of course it was soon over and I said hello to a few people I had met on the trail, then continued onwards.  5 mins later I sailed through the park gates and was there looking up at it, Sagarmartha National Park and its awesomeness stared down at me.  I could see my favourite part of the trail high up on the hill above Namche with its brilliant white Stupa standing out amongst the green, I smiled, I would be there in 2 days time.  But first there was important business to attend to, Tongba with my mate Kumar!

He was waiting for me at the other side of the bridge and I got greeted by massive whoops and hugs much to the amusement of the other trekkers on the bridge.  I was the only one in Kumar’s lodge that night, so we all ate together “Nepali” style in the dining room while laughing, catching up on gossip (he is going to be a Dad next month) and general merriment due to the amount of Tongba involved!

I had luckily enough decided to have a lazy morning at Kumar’s watching friends hit the trail as I sat on his balcony drinking tea and bringing in business.  There was one very important piece of work to be done though, the first Supporting Sherpa Children* collection box had to be “dressed” and installed along with a poster.  I was quite pleased with the result, as was Kumar!  Lunch at 11.30 and Kami and I were off just after 12 to hit the dreaded Namche hill!   But there was one important piece of work to do – at the army checkpoint just outside Jorsalle is the traditional spot for the 3 wise monkeys pose…….problem, there is only one of me!   Not a problem when there are others on the trail……so I was that random trekker that roped in two others for a “stupid” photo.  It worked!

I was enjoying Z list celebrity status on the trail, the guides couldn’t believe I didn’t have a guide with me, until I told them how many times I had been on the trail, but I had “mero saathi” Kami with me!  That was causing a stir at the checkpoints, added to the fact that I was then being recognised by guides I had met on previous treks and also in Annapurna 10 days earlier.  It was funny watching groups of trekkers react when Nepali’s were shouting my name and greeting me with hugs – I was a very happy girlie!

I hit the hill…….isn’t pre-acclimatisation supposed to help this?  Good god this hill goes on forever!!  Lots of stops, lots of chatting with trekkers, lots of cards handed out, actually lots of fun through all the pain. No views of Everest, but I knew that would come tomorrow.

I made it to the top and sped through the Army Checkpoint – more steps and round the corner to my favourite place in the world, I was back home in Namche!  Bags dumped, there was only one thing to do – APPLE PIE at Everest Bakery!!

No rest day for me this time on the way up, I was already pre acclimatised, so decided to head straight to Pangboche.  I left Namche later than I wanted to, but was on my way and as I got to the top of the village my phone was ringing, it was Dorje checking I had left!  “I will meet you at Tengboche, I will bring coke”  he knows how to make a girl climb a hill in double quick time!

The route was busy this morning, lots and lots of trekkers out on their way up to EBC, but I was on a much more important mission, I watched their joy as they saw Everest for the first time, my heart leapt as I turned the corner and saw she was out to play today.  Yes, I still stopped and took pictures, you can never have enough pictures of Everest, right??

Didn’t take long and I was at Tashi’s (Kyangjuma) – she told me I looked much better than the last time she’d seen me (I was grey and ill on my way back down in the Spring)  and that her and her son had been talking about me literally the day before!  Cue Karma walking out of the bakery, looking over at us and saying “are you Hazel Grace?”  funny moment for me as you can imagine!  Tashi was really pleased to hear about what we were doing this time and told me it would be no problem for her to have a box.  We would deliver it to her once we had been up to Pangboche.

Goodbyes done, I was off down through the beautiful pine scented forest and the hill that you forget about when you are coming back!  Then I was at the Bakery by the bridge and it was time for the most important poster to be handed out – Mingyar Dorje’s house, Zambala Lodge, Phunki Thanga. We wanted a poster up here, preferably the one starring him.  His mother recognised me instantly then he came running in and hugged my legs really tightly, much to the amusement of the other trekkers enjoying their break.   Presents despatched to Mingyar, food eaten and sprite drunk, poster up on the wall it was time to head off but I got ushered out the door without being able to hand over any money for my lunch, I was not happy, but accepted her generosity!

Kami had come looking for me as he was the other side of the bridge and had no signal to let Dorje know where we were.  I didn’t have any either!  Oh well, we knew he would be around somewhere so we headed off up the hill stopping often and grabbing our phones “no signal”  Eventually we got hold of Dorje and he told me he would be with us in 5 minutes, hugs and grins and coke!  He grabbed my backpack and gave me his one, much lighter, a couple of bottles of coke that was all.  We headed up to the top of the hill and he pointed out the school to me.  Oh my god, the playground had a massive new extension on it!  I could zoom in with my camera and see the new wall and the flat bit of playground – we looked at each other and grinned!

Off down to Deboche, over the bridge and up the hill through the mani and stupa’s to Pangboche.  I saw the familiar potato fields and knew we were there.  Huge hugs of welcome from Rhita in Namaste Lodge, I headed into the dining room and watched Dorje putting up posters for me.  Dorje stayed for dinner with us and joined in on the “hot lemon” vibe (OK it was chyaang) I was the only trekker there, so we all ate together in the kitchen, it was awesome.

Next day Dorje turned up at 10am to take me up to the school. We have a big problem, its Dashain in Nepal and the school is closed for the holiday, so I am unable to do a lot of the things on my list.  Note to self, check out festival dates in Nepal before booking each Autumns trip!

I was not prepared for what greeted me when I got to the school.  I had seen it from the hill at Tengboche, but ….OH. MY. GOD!!!  There was a real playground taking shape in front of me.  The slope that Roger and I had stood on in May 2013 was virtually gone.  There was a big extension to the front that I was now standing on looking across at the school buildings, it was huge and it wasn’t even half way done yet!  I looked at Dorje with tears in my eyes, he smiled his usual beautiful grin at me and asked if I liked it!  Seriously???

This was amazing, I was actually standing on a playground – one that wouldn’t be there if it wasn’t for Supporting Sherpa Children* and the St. James’s Place Foundation.    It was real, we were really doing something out here……why oh why was Roger not with me?

I just stood there in stunned silence, not actually able to take in what I was seeing.  There were lots and lots of workmen and the slope was literally disappearing in front of my eyes.

It was only now that I realised just how high that slope was, when half of it had been carved away, the guy on the top trying to get the soil to loosen and move was about 15 feet higher than his colleagues on the ground, and this was the slope that the children had been playing on before!  They still had about another 10 feet to go back to where the retaining wall would be built.  I was literally seeing it only half completed and it was blowing me away!

I stood there for ages, taking pictures and video and just trying my hardest not to cry like a baby!  This was amazing and this is only a small part of what we are doing here

IMG_6966
Pangboche School Playground, during…

Dorje told me that a programme had been planned for Monday, even though the school was closed, and that the children had been practising hard for it.  At that moment I saw a couple of the older girls arrive, look over at me, look sheepish and disappear into the main hall.  I guessed they were here to rehearse and suggested to Dorje that we left.

Quick lunch at the Trekkers Holiday Inn in Upper Pangboche sat in the sun, agreement for another box to be installed, then I headed on back down to Rhita’s.  I stopped at the Mani stones (the only place in the village I can get signal) to call Roger and leave an embarrassing (I cried) and rambling voicemail about how amazing it all was and that I wished he was there to see it and that I couldn’t wait for him and the gang to see it in the Spring.

I arrived back to find some trekkers in the lodge, a recommendation to stay at Moonlight Lodge in Dingboche (and they did, even mentioning my name!) but I still had dinner in the kitchen with the guides and other assorted Nepali’s that Rhita was accumulating as they relaxed ahead of the preparations they needed to do at Ama Dablam for this seasons climb.

Next day was an easy and relaxing day spent mainly sat out in the sun watching the world go by, oh and sorting out the boxes, putting stickers etc on them ready for the lodges they would be despatched to.  Rhita was very happy with hers.   One of the guides for Ama was also impressed with what we are doing and asked for some cards to give out to his clients!

An early night (after a few glasses of hot lemon of course) ready for tomorrow, school programme day.

Another sunny day, a wave from the hill as Dorje descended to take me and Kami up to his house then on to the school.  At his house he gave me a present from his wife – a Sherpani dress!! Apparently the whole village knew about this gift and was very excited that they would be seeing me dressed as a Sherpani today – to be fair I was excited too!  We managed to get me into it without too much fuss and we headed up to the school.  Yes, me heading up hill in a long dress!  At one time I felt like the pied piper as we collected people on the way up.

The programme was awesome, so much better than it had been in the spring (helped by their new sound system).  All the children had their new uniform given out by me, Dorje and Mingma as we tried to work out what size would fit what child.  It was funny being part of that chaos!  Beautiful, well-practised dances by the children and a few songs too.  They have new traditional costumes as well as new musical instruments which were passed around everyone with ease and big smiles!

Out onto the playground and some of the sports equipment came out, including a cricket bat!  Anyone that knows me, knows how much cricket is a part of our family history, so here we had the perfect picture for my family.  A Sherpani, named Grace, playing cricket in the shadow of Everest – you couldn’t make it up..

IMG_7307
A Sherpani, named Grace, playing cricket in the shadow of Everest

Programme over and everyone disappeared pretty sharpish, all clutching their new uniform (most actually wearing it!)  Time to say a quick “hi and bye” to the new English teacher, she has been there 5 months and I could already see and hear the difference in the children.  She apologised that I couldn’t observe a lesson – no problem, we can do that in the spring.

Off down to Kaljang’s house for some chyaang, his wife, Pasang, had invited us yesterday.  This one was STRONG!!  Oh my god, I could smell it as soon as she opened the container!  She told us she would start making some for the festivities in March…….oh dear!

Safely back at Rhita’s we all ate together, me still dressed as a Sherpani.  I couldn’t believe the difference in the kids and the enthusiasm from the village in general today.  What a difference it was from 12 months ago when Rajan and I sat in that big hall watching the stand off and the arguments between the teachers and the management committee – today they all seemed as one, and all were enthusiastic about the school, it was great to see.

Next day was a quick “pop up” to see Ram at Dingboche and deliver two boxes to him, one for him and one to go off to Pheriche.  Dorje would decide where it would go and sort with Ram over the next week or so.  Kami and I set off, with him having a tiny bag for me (basically my sleeping bag, some toiletries and warm clothes), along with the 2 boxes.

Up along the sunny path to Somare, a quick tea stop at Noru’s lodge and a poster up on the wall.  Up more steps to the edge of Somare and the place where it all changes for me.  Above Somare the trail expands and also becomes more barren, now you really know you are heading out towards the mountains and higher altitude.  Another poster on the wall at Sunrise Lodge, snickers and sprite break and Kami and I were off on the final leg to Dingboche.  I got there ridiculously fast for me……3 hours 40 minutes including 2 “tea breaks”  but was greeted by Namgel’s mum waving out of the window at Moonlight Lodge as she saw me approaching

As always, Ram greeted us warmly and very enthusiastically received the box, immediately moving stuff on the counter to make sure it had pride of place.  He even agreed to put up a poster in each bedroom!

A fun night with a couple of great groups in the lodge, one heading off to climb Island Peak, the others heading off to EBC and Kala Pathar, lots of banter as this was their 2nd night there and they had already bonded, was good to be included in this as Kami and I sat drinking our hot lemon…….

Lots of pictures with everyone the next morning before we headed off in 3 different directions!   A promise to Ram that we would be back and Kami and I set off down the hill to Rhita’s – we were there 2 hours and 10 minutes later and spent the afternoon sitting in the sun, chatting to Rhita.  We have got to know each other really well on this trip and we had a few tears that afternoon as we swapped stories of our lives.  Rhita’s English is not the best (and my Nepali is non-existent) but she told me about when her husband died, how the community supported her and how her tea lodge was built and lots of other stuff.  Such a beautiful and hard working lady and so caring to others, puts me to shame I tell you.

Tearful farewells in the sun the next morning. I always say it gets harder to leave Nepal every time – but this time it was harder to leave Pangboche.  I had spent 4 days there this time and it truly felt like home, I really didn’t want to leave, but knew I had to.  Prayer scarves, hugs, tears, chocolate bars…..and then Kami and I were off down towards Namche.

On my way down towards the bridge, I bumped into my old friend Ramesh, we knew it was likely that we would bump into each other today – he looked well and his clients were very surprised that this strange English woman was attacking their guide!!

Quick tea stop at Tengboche Bakery with Kami managing to persuade the owners that they needed a poster in their bakery – he’s fully on the case now!

Down the hill, quickly – a stop for tea with Mingyar and his family, packed off with cookies and promises of my visit next March and I was off up the impossible hill through the pine forest.  It still smelt sweet but oh my god does this never stop?  Just when you think you are at the top, you look over to Tashi’s and realise that is still way above you and you look up at the trail, more hills, more steps, please stop!

Tea with Tashi, her trying to force me to eat something as she could tell that I was starting to feel ill – my usual altitude sickness in reverse!  I asked Kami if he wanted any food “Namche” he said with a grin, so I knew it was time to head off.

A quick goodbye to Tashi and a promise to see her tomorrow to deliver the box “just send Kami, you rest in Namche”  No way, I would be back tomorrow, I need to walk these hills as many times as I can.

The way back hurt, I mean it really hurt.  I was feeling dizzy and nauseous and just like I wanted to give up, I kept stopping and drinking more water, Kami never left my side, my reassuring shadow.  I have never been so happy or grateful to see the army headquarters as we rounded the corner.  It was downhill from now on to our lodge.

I got into my room and Kami went to get the boxes from storage for me, they needed unpacking and branding. I knew I needed some food, so I headed to Everest Bakery!  Apple Pie and custard, surely that would cure everything?  Well, it sort of helped…..I took an age to eat it.  The owner recognised me from previous visits (not just a few days ago), I told him what we were doing and asked if he could have a poster up on the wall, no problem.  I promised to return tomorrow “I need some more apple pie before I leave”   A quick trip to the Sherpa shop, being recognised by the owner again “how are things at Pangboche”  and obviously purchases made.

I got talking to some trekkers in the Lodge, mainly due to hearing someone “talk proper” as my Mam would say.  Yep, there was a Geordie in Namche!  Next morning he told me he worked in IT and may be able to donate some used laptops for us, we exchanged numbers.

Kami and I set off the next morning to deliver the box to Tashi – I was in trouble early doors.  No backpack just a bag with water and a warm layer in, this wasn’t going to be good.  On the main trail out of Namche, Everest was just about visible, so we stopped for quick pictures of us with the box with Everest behind us, seemed too good an opportunity to miss!

Tashi was really happy with her box, she couldn’t believe how beautiful it was and I was invited into the dining room to find a place for it.  I sat and chatted to a few trekkers, some of whom I had met on the way up, I rested in the sun and drank ginger tea, I was feeling a little better, especially seeing as Tashi ignored me and bought me out half a cheese sandwich “I made it for my sister and she couldn’t eat it all, so you need to eat this now”  EEEK when Tashi tells you to do something, you do!  I managed half of it and Kami finished it off for me!!

Goodbyes said, Kami and I set off back to Namche, he offered to carry my bag, but I refused “day off” I said to him, he laughed!  I got slower and slower again and Kami just took my bag, then kept telling me “rest” and giving me more water. He was a star.  As we rounded the corner and walked into Namche he stopped “hot lemon?”  He looked at this house and grinned…….do you know what, yes!!!

We headed into this house and he ordered a jug, we laughed as actually drinking this chyaang made me feel better, I couldn’t believe it.  There were 2 cutie kids that proceeded to entertain us by showing off with anything they could find in the room, we had a lovely 30 mins rest here.  Kami went out, I thought to the loo, came back in followed closely by the owner of the house who gave him some change.  I looked at him and said “did you just pay?”  he grinned and nodded and said “me”.  “Tujichay” I said and we laughed, he had been trying to teach me Sherpa, stop me saying Dhanyabad and say thank you in Sherpa instead – I got the look of approval!

We bounced down the hill to Namche and I told him to go party – breakfast tomorrow at 8, as we had an easy day down to Jorsalle, he laughed and disappeared off into the streets of Namche.  I grabbed some posters and headed out of the Lodge.  I saw Sushila from Café Danphe, she would have a poster and cards, and also have a large book where she could collect email addresses for us, all I needed to do was find a large heavy book for her!

Next door in Everest Bakery the owner wasn’t in.  I sat drinking coffee and eating apple pie (rude not to) and he arrived, saw me and came straight over wanting to know where the posters were.  He chose 2 and found space to put them up.  I gave him a box of cards as well and they were placed straight on the counter next to the till, bless his little cottons

I headed back to my room and had a snooze, I forced down some food even though I really wasn’t hungry (hadn’t really properly eaten for at least 24 hours other than apple pie) and had an early night, easy day tomorrow, so I knew I could have a lie in and sort out the last few bits in Namche in the morning.

I was woken up by a text from Dorje –  “I am in Namche I will come and see you”   we had one last box and he thought he would take it up to the lodge that we had stayed in in 2012 because he knows the owner well. I laughed, this was the guy from Everest Bakery, we were both happy as we knew he would help!  Box delivered into the dining room in Kala Pathar Lodge, Dorje headed off to sort out the remaining box in Namche for me.

Quick hello to Lhakpa next door, cards and poster delivered, and we were off down the hill to Jorsalle.

Another beautiful sunny day, lucky us!  We laughed most of the way down the hill, getting caught up with lots of trekkers heading up, the busy season really has started now.  Over the bridge, down to the river, over another bridge and we were at the army checkpoint just before Jorsalle.  EEK need my 3 wise monkeys picture again – no worries, 2 trekkers absolutely willing to help this mad English woman babbling on about “its become a bit of a tradition now”

Safely at Kumar’s I asked for a bowl of hot water and decided to wash my hair – it had been about 6 days since it had last been washed.  I sat outside in the sun on the side of the trail letting my hair dry and watching the world go by.  We were in the lull between groups heading down and up, it was peaceful and lovely and it was something that you don’t often get to experience as you are usually part of that trail of trekkers either heading up or down.  Hearing the chatter between the teahouse owners, watching normal life just happen, it was blissful, I was happy and sad all at the same time, this time tomorrow I would be in Lukla and my time in the hills would be over for this year.

A great night with Kumar and his gang, eating, drinking and laughing – we fired up my laptop and I showed him the pictures from Pangboche.  Then we dug out my pictures from Rocham and showed them to his staff.  He grabbed the memory stick from his camera and we looked through those pictures on my computer, all in all a good way to spend my penultimate night in the hills

Tearful and hungover goodbyes done the next morning, Kami and I set off together for one last time this year.  I headed over the final bridge in Sagarmartha National Park and tied a prayer scarf to it and threw the end up into the wind to send up my prayer of return.  One last look back when I arrived at the gates and I was officially out of the Sagarmartha Park, I was sad again.

Down through Monjo, bumping in to hundreds of trekkers, with lots of big groups, Kami and I just kept looking at each other in amazement.  We bombed down the hill in the sunshine making really good time, stopping at Waterfall Inn (well the waterfall, not the inn) for some modelling fun, through Phakding and onto Ghat, we were marching merrily on and laughing all the way.

As we approached Ghat, Kami stopped outside a house and waited for me grinning, I knew what that meant…….”hot lemon” we laughed and bounced into the house.  One jug later we emerged giggling into the sunshine – yet again Kami had treated me to chyaang, we hugged before setting off on the last leg to Lukla.

Every time a group walked past us and said “Namaste” we laughed – Kami had taken to mimicking our foreign way of saying Namaste, so it now seemed really funny hearing it as all of a sudden I heard it how he hears it.  A quick cup of tea in Namgel’s aunts house (and some coconut crunchees) and we were on Lukla hill.

Kami sped up and waited for me at the top – high fives and hugs while a group of Korean trekkers gave us a round of applause for reaching the gate!  We walked through Lukla towards Paradise Lodge and the end of our time together.  I gave him the envelope I had already filled, Kami was a very happy boy and as we thought I was on the plane at 9am the next day, we agreed he would come back at 7.30am for out final farewell.

I had a quick couple of hours snooze and went into the dining room for my traditional last meal – yak sizzler and chips – it didn’t disappoint!!!  I then got told that I was on the first flight out the next morning so needed to be ready by 6am – I had no way of getting hold of Kami!!  Oh well, he would have been late anyway (he always turns up at the airport, avoiding carrying my bags round, it’s become a bit of a joke between us now!)

So, there I was, 7am being loaded onto the plane and flying out of Lukla, it had been an amazing 12 days, reinforcing my love of the hills but also reinforcing exactly why we were there.  I had met lots of guides who were interested in what we are doing and wanted to tell me about their villages.  This is what we need – how else are we going to find out about these remote villages unless we are told, we can’t just go and have a wander and find them (well we might be able to, but it will take a while)  these are the guys we need to talk to.

I then enjoyed 10 days of proper holiday in Kathmandu, catching up with friends both old and new.  I also got to visit another remote village and met 2 young girls that have set up a preschool, in one of their houses.  They have 30 children ranging from 3-13 that they are teaching basic English to in a tiny room, and they are 18 years old, two truly amazing girls.  2 hours on the back of a bike from Kathmandu, 20 mins walk to the first house, then 40 mins walk up a hill to the village, I will be back in the Spring for another visit!    Oh and the best dal bhat of the tour made by Angelie’s mum.

I  have been very lucky to have been able to go on this amazing journey.  I would like to thank my hero and inspiration Roger Owen for introducing me to this beautiful country, without him and his passion for climbing that big hill called Everest, I would not have found my true home.

Apart from Roger, massive thanks have to go to Kami, my constant companion and the man that carries my bag for me, I really could not do ANYTHING in the hills without him!

To all the guides, trekkers, shop owners and teahouse owners along the way who have taken on board the cause we are trying to promote – they are all amazing but the Supporting Nepal’s Children journey is only just starting.

There are thousands of schools out here that need our help and they are never lucky enough to see a trekker and obtain donations.  Therefore we need to continue to travel to Nepal and make more friends who can then let us know about the villages they come from – the trekkers and those of you reading this are only half the story.

Dhanyabad one and all – please feel free to share this blog, encourage other people to find out about our work and hopefully send donations (you can find us on Virgin Money Giving).

Please visit our website www.supportingnepalschildren.org.uk and sign up to join our mailing list so that you are able to be kept up to date with what happens to your donations.

BUT, and this is the most important thing for you to know, all of the above “partying” is completely self funded, so therefore please be assured that all your donations go straight to improving the schools and education levels for these wonderful children – they DO NOT go towards paying for my Chyaang/Tongba or any other expense I run up in any of my trips, I hope you all knew that anyway, I just wanted to reassure you!

My travelpod blog can be found here and has more pictures and more detail of my trip.

*Supporting Sherpa Children was our original name, when we obtained official UK Charity Status, the Charities Commission (Reg No: 1160929) asked us for a name that more suited what we did (ie, we don’t just support Sherpa children) so Supporting Nepal’s Children was born.

Leave a Reply

